Skip to content

Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel Hardcover - 2013

by Celona, Marjorie


From the publisher

For fans of White Oleander and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, an exquisitely rendered debut about a wise-beyond-her-years foster child searching for a home, entwined with the heartbreaking story of the mother who abandoned her. "Y. That perfect letter. The wishbone, fork in the road, empty wineglass. The question we ask over and over. Why? . . . My life begins at the Y." So opens Marjorie Celona's highly acclaimed and exquisitely rendered debut about a wise-beyond-her-years foster child abandoned as a newborn on the doorstep of the local YMCA. Swaddled in a dirty gray sweatshirt with nothing but a Swiss Army knife tucked between her feet, little Shannon is discovered by a man who catches only a glimpse of her troubled mother as she disappears from view. That morning, all three lives are forever changed. Bounced between foster homes, Shannon endures abuse and neglect until she finally finds stability with Miranda, a kind but no-nonsense single mother with a free-spirited daughter of her own. Yet Shannon defines life on her own terms, refusing to settle down, and never stops longing to uncover her roots--especially the stubborn question of why her mother would abandon her on the day she was born. Brilliantly and hauntingly interwoven with Shannon's story is the tale of her mother, Yula, a girl herself who is facing a desperate fate in the hours and days leading up to Shannon's birth. As past and present converge, Y tells an unforgettable story of identity, inheritance, and, ultimately, forgiveness. Celona's ravishingly beautiful novel offers a deeply affecting look at the choices we make and what it means to be a family, and it marks the debut of a magnificent new voice in contemporary fiction.

Details

  • Title Y: A Novel
  • Author Celona, Marjorie
  • Binding Hardcover
  • Edition First Printing
  • Pages 259
  • Language ENG
  • Publisher Free Press, New York
  • Date 2013-01
  • ISBN 9781451674385
Back to Top

More Copies for Sale

Y : A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y : A Novel

by Celona, Marjorie

  • Used
Condition
Used - Very Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
2
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€4.74
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press. Used - Very Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in excellent condition. May show signs of wear or have minor defects.
Item Price
€4.74
FREE shipping to USA
Y : A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y : A Novel

by Celona, Marjorie

  • Used
Condition
Used - Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€5.44
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press. Used - Good. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
€5.44
FREE shipping to USA
Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel

by Celona, Marjorie

  • Used
Condition
UsedGood
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Rotterdam , New York, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€5.53
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
UsedGood. Shows minimal wear such as frayed or folded edges, minor rips and tears, and/or slightly worn binding. May have stickers and/or contain inscription on title page. No observed missing pages. Former library copy with library markings and/or jacket.
Item Price
€5.53
FREE shipping to USA
Y : A Novel

Y : A Novel

by Marjorie Celona

  • Used
  • good
  • Hardcover
Condition
Used - Good
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Seattle, Washington, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€5.68
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press, 2013. Hardcover. Good. Disclaimer:A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.
Item Price
€5.68
FREE shipping to USA
Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel

by Marjorie Celona

  • Used
  • good
  • Hardcover
Condition
Used - Good
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
HOUSTON, Texas, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€7.39
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press, 2013-01-08. Hardcover. Good.
Item Price
€7.39
FREE shipping to USA
Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel

by Celona, Marjorie

  • Used
  • Hardcover
Condition
Used - Like New
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€9.01
€3.32 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press. Used - Like New. 2013. Hardcover. Small remainder mark. Fine. Dust Jacket is Fine.
Item Price
€9.01
€3.32 shipping to USA
Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel

by Celona, Marjorie

  • Used
  • Hardcover
Condition
Used - Very Good
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€9.01
€3.32 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press. Used - Very Good. 2013. Hardcover. Very Good.
Item Price
€9.01
€3.32 shipping to USA
Y  A Novel

Y A Novel

by Marjorie Celona

  • Used
  • Fine
  • Hardcover
  • first
Condition
Used - Fine
Edition
First Edition
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Springfield, Oregon, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€9.39
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press, 2012. Book is clean, unmarked and solid. Not ex-library. Fine priced dust jacket. Very small, light remainder mark. "ravishingly beautiful" novel of a young mother and the child she abandons at birth. 259pp Shipped in sturdy cardboard box.. 007037. First Edition. Hard Cover. Fine/Fine. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall.
Item Price
€9.39
FREE shipping to USA
Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel

by Celona

  • Used
Condition
Used - Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€9.48
€14.22 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press. Used - Good. Bargain book!
Item Price
€9.48
€14.22 shipping to USA
Y: A Novel
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Y: A Novel

by Celona, Marjorie

  • New
  • Hardcover
Condition
New
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9781451674385 / 1451674384
Quantity Available
1
Seller
San Diego, California, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
€57.84
€5.17 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Free Press, 2013-01-08. Hardcover. New. New. In shrink wrap. Looks like an interesting title!
Item Price
€57.84
€5.17 shipping to USA